Psychiatric pills can pack on pounds

United Press International

March 31, 2008

Antidepressants, mood stabilizers or newer generation anti-psychotics can result in a patient’s weight gain, a Canadian researcher said.

Psychiatric drug-related weight gain “is a huge problem,” Dr. David Lau, chairman of the diabetes and endocrine research group at the University of Calgary and president of Obesity Canada, told The Ottawa Citizen.

“You can see patients gaining 10, 20, 30, 40 pounds.”

Not everyone taking the psychiatric medications will gain weight, but patients may not be warned of the possible weight gain.

Lau said the anti-psychotics most likely to be associated with weight gain are: Clozaril, or clozapine; Zyprexa, Seroquel or quetiapine; Risperdal, or risperidone; Modecate or chlorpromazine; fluphenazine and Haldol or haloperidol…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Psychiatric pills can pack on pounds

  1. I am Obese because I have taken every Atypical Antipsychotic medication out there with the exception of Clozoril. I gained the most weight when I was taking Risperdal and Invega. (about 75 pds ) I also have developed Hyperglycemia and very scared that I am going to develop Diabetes. I have Dystonia which doctors declared medication enduced. I am currently taking Serequel as well as other prescription medications. I use a walker and my life is difficult. I am taking things a day at a time.

Leave a Reply

